Board Vacancy

Nine Mile Creek Watershed District Board Vacancies

There will be two vacancies on the Nine Mile Creek Watershed District Board due to expiration of term of office on September 29, 2020 for Jodi Peterson who was first appointed on October 25, 2011 and Erin Hunker who was first appointed September 26, 2017. Jodi Peterson indicated that she is not planning to re-apply. Erin Hunker intends to seek reappointment.


Applications are scheduled to close on August 28, 2020, with interviews scheduled to be held during the County Administration, Libraries and Budget Committee meeting on September 15, 2020.


Photography by: Mike Thorud

Who should apply?

You may want to become a watershed district manager if you are interested in:

  • water resources
  • preserving the environment
  • protecting Nine Mile Creek, local lakes, and natural resources

A member may not be a public officer of the county, state or federal government and must be a resident of the district. The cities of Bloomington, Edina, Eden Prairie, Hopkins, Minnetonka and Richfield have land within the District. Members serve three-year terms, and are appointed by the Hennepin County Board of Commissioners.

Managers attend regularly scheduled district board meetings, along with other special meetings related to the business of the district. A watershed district manager presides over the business of the district as it relates to finances of the District, conservation of natural resources, regulation of land disturbing activities, flood control and the protection and improvement of water resources. Because of these duties, it is helpful to have members who have a background in water conservation, development, law, engineering, natural resources, administration, etc.

Regular board meetings are scheduled at 7 PM on the third Wednesday of the month, virtually until further notice. A member of the board is expected to spend at least 12 hours of time a month on watershed district work.


Contact District Administrator Randy Anhorn at or 952-835-2078.

More Information

Committee Summary from Hennepin County

About the District