

Nine Mile Creek Discovery Point 12800 Gerard Drive

Eden Prairie, MN 55346

MEMO

(952) 835-2078

www.ninemilecreek.org

TO: Nine Mile Creek Watershed District Board of Managers

FROM: Randy Anhorn

DATE: January 12, 2021

RE: Annual Designations – Consent Agenda

Background

As part of the District's annual business meeting, the Board of Manager's has taken action on selecting its annual meeting schedules, appointing CAC members, naming its official bank and newspaper and reviewing it permit fees and financial assurance schedules. The following are current and recommended designations.

Adoption of Schedule of Board of Managers

- Board Meeting Schedule 3rd Wednesday of each month at 7:00 pm at the NMCWD office, 12800 Gerard Drive, Eden Prairie, MN. The 2021 schedule is as follows:
 - o January 7, 2021 Special Meeting
 - o January 20, 2021
 - o February 4, 2021 Special Meeting
 - o February 17, 2021
 - o March 4, 2021 Special Meeting
 - o March 17, 2021
 - o April 1, 2021 Special Meeting
 - o April 21, 2021
 - o May 6, 2021 Special Meeting
 - o May 19, 2021
 - o June 3, 2021 Special Meeting
 - o June 16, 2021
 - o July 1, 2021 Special Meeting
 - o July 21, 2021
 - o August 5, 2021 Special Meeting
 - o August 18, 2021
 - o September 2, 2021 Special Meeting
 - o September 15, 2021
 - o October 7, 2021 Special Meeting
 - o October 20, 2021
 - o November 4, 2021 Special Meeting
 - o November 17, 2021
 - o December 2, 2021 Special Meeting
 - o December 15, 2021

Appointment of CAC Members

• See attached document listing current CAC

Appointment of TAC Members

• See attached document listing TAC members

Naming of District Bank and Permit Security Depository

- The NMCWD's Official Bank is Wells Fargo
- Permit Security Deposits are kept in a locked safe at the District office

Confirm Receipt of Broker Certificates for Investments

 Broker certificates for District investments (CDs) have been received from Wells Fargo Advisors

Naming of Official Newspaper

• Official District newspaper is the Sun Current.

Review of Permit Fees and Financial Assurances

- Continue with the current permit fee and financial assurance schedule
- Consider updating special meeting fee

Insurance Coverage

Continue current Insurance Coverage with LMCIT

Review Employee Policy Manual

• No suggested or needed changes to recommend

Request

Approve the recommended business items for 2021.

Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) Members

The following Citizen Advisory Committee members have expressed interest in reappointment in 2021:

- Charlotte Lefebvre Edina (CAC Chair)
- Roger Bildsten Edina
- Rich Koechlein Edina
- Jonathon Scoll Edina
- Joshua Lynn Bloomington
- Beth Miller Minnetonka (Secretary)
- Bob Prince Eden Prairie
- Ember Kapitan Eden Prairie
- Tim Ronhovde—Eden Prairie

They are committed individuals who are dedicated to the District's mission and goals and staff recommends their reappointment.

In addition, the District received eight new applications for appointment to the CAC in 2021. One applicant lived outside of the watershed and so was not qualified. This is the second year that the number of current committee members and applicants interested in being on the committee exceed the goal of a limit of 12 members. After video and phone conversations with the seven qualified candidates, the review committee recommends appointing the following three as new members to the 2021 CAC (applications available upon request).

- Shelby Roberts Bloomington. Experience in environmental education and social media campaigns; interests in outreach to businesses and youth programming.
- John Arthur Hopkins. Minnesota Water Steward and Master Naturalist. Founder of MN Dragonfly Society. Served on many boards, including Wild Ones Twin Cities and Audubon Chapter of the Twin Cities. Interests in education about native plants, healthy habitats, and macroinvertebrates.
- Emily Dalager Minnetonka. Experience presenting to commissions, knowledge of planning and zoning decision making. Interests in sustainable resource management.

Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) Members

- Kristen Asher, Public Works Director City of Richfield
- Ross Bintner, Water Resources Engineer City of Edina
- Steve Christopher, Board Conservationist BWSR
- Jim Gates, Deputy Director of Public Works City of Bloomington
- Bryan Gruidl, Water resources Engineer City of Bloomington
- Will Manchester, City Engineer City of Minnetonka
- Joe Mulchay, Environmental Analyst Metropolitan Council
- Drew McGovern, Water Resources Engineer –Hennepin County
- Sarah Schweiger, Water Resources Engineer City of Minnetonka
- Jason Spiegel, Area Hydrologist MNDNR
- Leslie Stovring, Environmental Coordinator City of Eden Prairie
- Nick Tiedeken, Water resources Engineer MNDOT
- Jessica Vanderwerff Wilson, Water Resources Coordinator City of Edina

• Jordan Donatell, Watershed Project Manager – MPCA