

Nine Mile Creek Discovery Point 12800 Gerard Drive

Eden Prairie, MN 55346



(952) 835-2078 www.ninemilecreek.org

# TO: Nine Mile Creek Watershed District Board of Managers FROM: Randy Anhorn DATE: January 9, 2020 RE: Annual Designations – Consent Agenda

# Background

As part of the District's annual business meeting, the Board of Manager's has taken action on selecting its annual meeting schedules, appointing CAC members, naming its official bank and newspaper and reviewing it permit fees and financial assurance schedules. The following are current and recommended designations.

# Adoption of Schedule of Board of Managers and CAC Meetings

- *Board Meeting Schedule* 3<sup>rd</sup> Wednesday of each month at 7:00 pm at the NMCWD office, 12800 Gerard Drive, Eden Prairie, MN. The 2020 schedule is as follows:
  - o January 15, 2020
  - February 19, 2020
  - March 18, 2020
  - April 15, 2020
  - May 20, 2020
  - o June 17, 2020
  - o July 15, 2020
  - August 19, 2020
  - September 16, 2020
  - o October 21, 2020
  - o November 18, 2020
  - December 16, 2020
- CAC Meeting Schedule -
  - February 12, 2020
  - o April 9, 2020
  - o June 4, 2020
  - October 1, 2020
  - o November 19, 2020

# **Appointment of CAC Members**

• See attached document listing current CAC members seeking reappointment as well as three new applicants recommended for appointment

# **Appointment of TAC Members**

• See attached document listing TAC members

# Naming of District Bank and Permit Security Depository

- The NMCWD's Bank is Wells Fargo
- Permit Security Deposits are kept in a locked safe at the District office

#### Naming of Official Newspaper

• Official District News Paper is the Sun Newspapers

#### **Review of Permit Fees and Financial Assurances**

- Continue with the current permit fee and financial assurance schedule
- Consider updating special meeting fee

#### **Insurance Coverage**

• Continue current Insurance Coverage with LMCIT

# **Review Employee Policy and Governance Manual**

• No suggested or needed changes to recommended

#### Request

Approve the recommended business items for 2020.

# **Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) Members**

The following Citizen Advisory Committee eight of last year's 11 CAC members have expressed interest in reappointment in 2020:

- Roger Bildsten
- Kim Herzog
- Scott Jordan
- Ember Kapitan
- Rich Koechlein
- Charlotte Lefebvre
- Bob Prince
- Roger Willette

They are committed individuals who are dedicated to the District's mission and goals and staff recommends their reappointment.

In addition, the District received 11 new applications for appointment to the CAC in 2020. This is the first year that the number of current committee members and applicants interested in being on the committee exceed the goal of a limit of 12 members. After interviewing the 11 candidates, staff recommends appointing the following five as new members to the 2020 CAC.

- Joshua Lynn Bloomington. Interests in plants, habitat restoration, and water quality.
- Beth Miller *Minnetonka*. Interests in environmental conservation efforts, outreach on BMPs, and is a 2018 Master Water Steward.
- Tim Ronhovde *Eden Prairie*. *Interests in education, especially about chlorides, and curriculum writing*.
- Stephen Sinykin Bloomington. Interests in outreach and photography.
- Jonathan Scoll Edina. Interests in outreach, plants, water quality and is a Master Gardener.

# **Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) Members**

- Kristen Asher, Public Works Director City of Richfield
- Ross Bintner, Water Resources Engineer City of Edina
- Steve Christopher, Board Conservationist BWSR
- Jim Gates, Deputy Director of Public Works City of Bloomington
- Bryan Gruidl, Water resources Engineer City of Bloomington
- Will Manchester, City Engineer City of Minnetonka
- Joe Mulchay, Environmental Analyst Metropolitan Council
- Drew McGovern, Water Resources Engineer –Hennepin County
- Sarah Schweiger, Water Resources Engineer City of Minnetonka
- Jason Spiegel, Area Hydrologist MNDNR
- Leslie Stovring, Environmental Coordinator City of Eden Prairie
- Nick Tiedeken, Water resources Engineer MNDOT
- Jessica Vanderwerff Wilson, Water Resources Coordinator City of Edina
- MPCA Representative (Chris Zadak has recently retired)